He doesn’t Leave us to be Attacked by the Enemy

October 2, 2013

Photo on 10-2-13 at 9.59 AM

   It is 9:52 in the morning and I am enjoying a nice bowl of frosted flakes in my cozy warm bed. ( Yes I have a Tony the Tiger bowl, and yes ironically I am eating Frosted Flakes)

  This morning I spent time reading a book called 31 Days of Prayer, and a little bit from my Bible. As I was spending time praying to God, I felt a deep peace come over me, the kind of deep peace where you feel like you could fall asleep. Instead of feeling the need to “wake myself up” I just let God do what he was doing, and fell silent in his presence. I was waiting for him to speak. Then he reminded me of a dream I had last night:

In my dream I was being attacked by Satan. It was night time, and I was asleep in my bed in my room. I remember feeling the sensation of being lifted off the bed, carried in my blanket, and feeling vulnerable because whoever had me, was going to drop me to the ground. I knew that whoever it was was not from God. There was an evil presence in my room harassing me. I tried saying the name of Jesus so he would flee, but I remember seeing a shadow hand in the dark that would block and cover my mouth from saying it. It didn’t stop me from trying though. They sounded muffled but I kept saying it as hard as my breath could. The presence remained, then I remember saying a scripture in the dark. ” Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding.” I kept repeating it, emphasizing the word “Lord” with every time I repeated it. Then I began to say Jesus’s name in the scripture as well. “Trust in the Lord, Jesus, Jesus Christ, with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding”.” As I began to say the name of the Lord Jesus Christ in scripture, the room began to shake violently because of the sheer power that was overtaking my room. It was the power of God.

   Unfortunately, that’s all I remember. In my quite time, thinking about this dream I couldn’t remember where the scripture was in the Bible. As I remained silent, the Holy Spirit brought it back to my remembrance (which was pretty cool, I’m not going to lie). The scripture is in Proverbs 3:5.

  God is saying something powerful here. In my dream,  I was being attacked but despite what I was feeling and seeing at the time, I spoke words that contradict my circumstance. I think what God is simply telling me is to trust him, and that leaning on my own understanding will lead me astray. He know’s the heartaches I have been having within my life. Heartaches only he knows.  He’s responding back to me.

That’s how intimate a God we serve, dear reader. There is power in His word, and in his name. More powerful than we can imagine. He doesn’t leave us to be attacked by the enemy.

– Hannah M.

” Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6

Leave a Reply

